Hero Image


Days of ’76 Museum


The Days of ’76 celebration began in 1924 as a way to honor Deadwood’s first pioneers – the prospectors, miners, muleskinners, and madams who poured into the Black Hills in 1876 to settle the gold-filled gulches of Dakota Territory. Since then, the Days of ’76 has grown into a legendary annual event with a historic parade and an award-winning PRCA rodeo.

The Days of ’76 Museum began, informally, as a repository for the horse-drawn wagons, stagecoaches, carriages, clothing, memorabilia, and archives generated by the celebration. The museum is now a state-of-the-art facility filled with dynamic and thematic exhibitions.

More than 50 historic wagons, carriages, buggies, and other animal-powered vehicles are on display in the exhibit, Deadwood: A Story of Movement and Change. The 7,000-square-foot exhibit tells the story of how this early transportation system helped settle the American West.

Spectacular and colorful panoramic photographs of the local western landscape cover the walls of the gallery. Many vehicles are positioned in front of creative representations of Deadwood’s Main Street, including wooden and brick buildings, a livery stable, a sundries storefront, a fire station, and the porch of an elegant Victorian home. The gallery is full of hands-on components, photo opportunities, and interactive activities that make for a truly memorable experience.

The Firearms Exhibit tells a layered story of guns both in the Black Hills and throughout American history. Nearly 100 long arms and 20 handguns are presented in unique displays, including examples of the firearms that made American gun designers world-famous. The story of each gun is supported by a fascinating background of photographs, diagrams, and illustrations.

Hours of Operation

October – April:  10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Tuesdays through Saturday
Closed Sunday and Monday and winter holidays.

The museum will be open on Saturday, December 31 (New Year’s Eve).

May – September: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. daily

18 Seventy Six Drive, Deadwood, SD
Deadwood, SD 57732

Days of ’76 Campground

At the Days of 76 Campground you have the opportunity to camp on the banks of trout-filled Whitewood Creek where gold rush miners panned for gold.

Learn More
Days of ’76 Rodeo

Since 1998, the Days of '76 Rodeo has been honored as the Rodeo Committee Of The Year 19 times.

Learn More
Adams Museum

In 1930 pioneer businessman W.E. Adams founded the Adams Museum in Deadwood, with the purpose of preserving and displaying the history of the Black Hills.

Learn More
Historic Adams House

The Historic Adams House was built in 1892 by Deadwood pioneers Harris and Anna Franklin. Local contemporary press described the home as "the grandest house west of the Mississippi".

Learn More
Homestake Adams Research and Cultural Center

Homestake Adams Research and Cultural Center (HARCC) - Deadwood - offers a variety of rental options for meetings and events of all sizes.

Learn More
Book My StayDownload Guide
help desk software